Call Now
1800 102 5277

SNDT Women's University

Updated on: Mar 21, 2013

The history of women’s education in India took new dimensions in 1896 with the establishment of a women ashram for widows and helpless women in Hingne near Pune. Dr. Dhondo Keshav Karve established this ashram. Later a schooling program was launched for girls and further turned into a regular school. In 1915, during the presidential address to the National Social Reform Congress at Bombay, Dr. Karve announced his plan to start an all women’s university.

In 1916, the first women college was established which later took shape of a university now called SNDT Women’s University.  Sir Vithal Das Thackersey was another visionary who help Dr. Karve and donated Rs. 15 Lacks for the cause. In 1920 after the great benefactor’s mother Nathibai, the University was named as Shreemati Nathibai Damodar Thackersey Women’s University.  The university headquarter moved to Bombay in 1936; the University was granted statutory recognition and was renamed as Shrimati Nathibai Thackersey Women’s University  now popularly known as SNDT Women’s University,  in 1951.

The recognition to SNDT Women’s University  came along with extraordinary freedom of having a jurisdiction across the country. Today SNDT Women’s University  has 5 campuses; viz, 2 in Mumbai, 1 in Pune, 1 in Thane and 1 in Ahmedabad.

The SNDT Women’s University  is recognized from statutory bodies like University Grants Commission (UGC) and National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC). Courses in humanities, commerce, sciences and various vocational disciplines are offered. Besides, Distance Education programs also conducted. The university has following faculties and departments to offer courses-

Faculty of Arts

  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of Marathi
  • Department of English
  • Department of Gujarati
  • Department of Sanskrit
  • Department of language of Teaching

Faculty of Social Science

  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of History
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Guidance and Counselling

Faculty of Fine Arts

  • Department of Music
  • Department of Art & Painting

Faculty of Commerce

  • Department of Commerce

Faculty of Education

  • Department of Education, Mumbai
  • Department of Education, Pune
  • Department of Special Education
  • Department of Educational Technology

Faculty of Library and Information Science

  • S.H.P.T School of Library Science-Mumbai

Faculty of Management Studies

  • Janki Devi Bajaj Institute of Management Studies

Faculty of Home Science

  • Department of Human Development
  • Department of Textile and Clothing
  • Department of Extension Education & Communication Management
  • Department of family Resource
  • Department of Food Science & Nutrition
  • Department of Communication media for children

Faculty of Nursing

  • L.T College of Nursing

Faculty of Science

  • Department of Analytical Chemistry

Faculty of Technology

The SNDT Women’s University  has a cause to promote women education in the country. For the purpose the university offers various fellowships and scholarships. It has provided affiliation to many numbers of colleges. The university has magnificent library. Established in 1955, today the library stocks more than 3 lacks books, periodicals and electronic resources.

The university’s job placement Cell is run by Dept. of Students Welfare in collaboration with Dept. of Continuing and Adult Education. The cell arranges for campus interviews and conducts programs like Life Skills Education Programmes, leadership Camps, Awareness Programmes like workshop on ‘Right to Information’ and Career Counselling. The cell also has introduced ‘earn while learn’ program for university students.

For further information related to SNDT Women's University, click on the links provided below:

Subscribe to our newsletter